Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we live in a global society where news spread in an incredibly fast way. Some individuals believe that this kind of media doesn't influence people's lives and that it is not essential to be constantly exposed to them. I completely disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will explain my point of view and I will also provide some examples. Firstly, people need to add new inputs in their minds, because it keeps active the brain. We live in a society where everyone is connected with others and is essential to be updated daily with news and newspaper. News and newspaper play a fundamental role in people's lives because they stimulate brain activity, thus they can develop better critical thinking systems. For example, in my social group only one of my friends refuses to read the newspaper and watch the news on tv, and his thinking process is slower when it comes to solving problems or thinking about new useful ideas. Secondly, and most importantly, in order to take part in social life and survive, we need to know what's happening around us. There is a huge amount of news that might not stimulate interest among individuals, but is very important to get knowledge about them. Thanks to media and new information we can be aware of social themes like politics, finance and environmental problems. Having knowledge constantly updated is essential to get good quality of life. Furthermore, being informed helps you to know new people, because you can talk about a popular topic with someone you do not know. To conclude, I do not agree with the statement, because news is essential in modern communities for two main reasons: we need to stimulate and keep active the brain and getting new information might be very helpful for our personal life and to know new people.