Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years the topic of who should be held responsible for the increased rates of obesity, especially among younger demographics has become highly debatable. A lot of people claim that governments should take full responsibility for this problem. This essay will argue against this opinion and explain and prove why the home environment and family structure, and not the government, ought to be held accountable for children's weight-related problems. To start with, leading a healthy lifestyle and providing good nutrition choices for children should be encouraged by any government. However, it is ultimately an individual family’s choice of lifestyle that has a real influence on the obesity of their children. Significant and plausible research has proved that the families where caretakers do not encourage active exercise and healthy diets and allow spending unlimited time in front of TV and computer screens, inevitably expose children to risk of gaining weight. Only through creating a home environment that models good nutrition and fitness practices, youngsters can overcome the problem of being overweight. Furthermore, it has been discovered that a structure of a family often affects childhood obesity. For instance, children living with single mothers are apparently more obese than the ones living with two parents. The explanations for this include single-parent households having higher time demands due to the lack of shared responsibilities at home. Subsequently, a reduction of homemade and shared family meals and physical activity can occur. And this in its turn leads to children developing unhealthy eating habits, making poor food choices and gaining weight. This is certainly a strongly arguable, yet rational explanation for children's obesity. There are, however, legitimate reasons to expect any government to impose policies such as national obesity education, school-based nutrition programs and dietary guidelines to on the one hand decrease obesity rates among the younger population and on the other - increase the awareness of the benefits of healthy diets. However, it is only up to a family to closely adhere to these policies. Therefore, putting the responsibility only on the authorities is unreasonable. In conclusion, this essay argued that family lifestyles and structure are solely responsible for children's adiposity. And I personally believe that the root cause of being overweight in children is the place where in the end everything is decided: a family.