Some think that government should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion

An array of people believe that the retired community shall be supported financially by the state and some say that is not and they should be self-supported. I strongly admit that there should be a government financial scheme to support the retired crowd and both views are discussed in detail below. On the one hand, social security is a very important factor in any country. The state should look after the children as well as the elderly population to ensure the well-being of the nation. Just take an elderly individual who devoted his whole life to the betterment of the country. He or she may be an engineer, teacher, doctor, farmer or a housewife and dedicated their own energy to developing the country for a long period. I strongly believe that dedication should be paid off financially when those are retired. Hence it is very important to establish a social security fund to look after the retired generation. On the other hand, some public says that everyone should save plenty of money while they work, to use during the latter part of their life instead of expecting state financial support. That is individuals are expected save a certain percentage of their own earnings for themselves, instead of spending all for their families. That can also be materialised, if their earnings are sufficient enough and this could relieve the government from the burden of looking after adults. However, as all cannot afford the cost of living while saving for themselves some kind of state-owned fund is a must to look after the aged generations. To conclude, I opine that there should be a financial package available on request for retired people to support them and enable them to live a peaceful life during the latter part of their lives.