Some people say that living in high-rise apartments feels very lonely, and makes people unhappy. Others say there are advantages to living in an independent house. Discuss both views and give your opinions

Urbanisation has led to more people living in high-rise buildings instead of living in independent houses. Some believe that such apartments are more secure, however, others are of the view that such property types lead to families being unhappy and more isolated. I support the latter view and this essay will discuss both opinions in detail. Firstly, those who prefer flats and storeyed apartments are mostly those families who work in the service sector and they spend a major portion of their time in offices. These buildings tend to have all the facilities available in a common area. For example: gardens, parks, swimming pools, kindergartens, gyms etc. Therefore, many folks are now shifting to high-rise apartments as they have security guards as well. However, these amenities are hardly utilised by the residents. Folks living here rarely know each other and they are not even aware of their neighbourhood. Moreover, such buildings are more structured and developed according to a specified plan. On the other hand, independent houses are built as per the taste of an individual, therefore, they tend to be happier and more satisfied. There is no bar on owning the land and usually, such types of houses are permanent therefore, people get to know their neighbours in a short span of time. In the conclusion, I would say that owning an independent house is definitely a better choice if you want to lead a better life in the long term. Therefore, people should prefer such houses instead of apartments in order to be happy and satisfied in the long run.