These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

There has been a shifting trend of fathers staying at home to nurture and provide for the kids while the mother earns the bread in recent times. I feel this is a monumental change in a positive direction, given that the 21st century has provided a platform for change, which a lot of people have embraced. To begin with, the traditional bounds were that the mother would stay at home and nurture the kids while the father would work. This system became redundant and arbitrary as the world progressed. In the erstwhile days, women were barred from work as they were wrongly considered to be inferior to men in certain aspects. But, these shackles have since been broken. Now, women have the opportunity to earn more than their male counterparts. As a result, they go out while the father works from home or at home as someone is needed to care for the young ones. This change is quite refreshing as men play their part to nurture the family, no matter what that role might be. Fathers staying at home doesn’t just allow a mother to fulfil her career-oriented dreams but also takes a lot of load off her as motherhood is a daunting task. For instance, with the father taking care of the family, the mother can catch up with old friends, go out for a refreshing walk, learn a new hobby or skill, or take a much-warranted nap. This change is possible as a sense of equality is being instilled among the people and they realize that sharing responsibilities develops stronger bonds. However, there might be a few drawbacks to this. For instance, a father’s nurturance will never triumph over that of a mother. Furthermore, climbing up the corporate ladder means making a lot of sacrifices which often include moving around from place to place, working late hours successively and tremendous tension on the employee. It is observed that women tend not to make such choices as they feel the family might be affected. But, all in all, this sea change shows the progression of the society which previously deemed women unfit for work and that a man should take equal responsibility in a household. Thus, we can take pride in becoming a unified, welcoming and progressive society in general. To summarise, this trend is witnessed in a time when the most capable person stakes claim to the job, irrespective of their gender. Also, the concept of online offices has aided greatly. Hence, it should be taken as a positive step and should flourish further.