It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Raising children is always a matter of debate. There have been conflicting views on whether punishing them is a necessity or not. In my opinion, punishment is required on certain occasions for disciplining young people. Moreover, the type of punishing differs according to the situation. When a child grows up, he acquires values and morals in various ways and punishing is one significant way. It enables the child to identify the consequences of his or her actions and how he will be negatively affected. Therefore, he will think twice before doing wrong acts. Moreover, the punished child will develop values of altruism and decline selfish needs especially if his unaccepted actions are interfering with others. Additionally, that will enable him to learn the difference between right and wrong. Thus, punishing as a way of raising is necessary. It is undeniable that many methods of how to punish juniors are existing but the most common one is negative punishment. It includes forbidding the younger people from performing their enjoyable activities. For example, parents reduce the amount of money given to children and prevent them from watching television and using the internet, while at school, teachers can prevent students from participating in school activities or competitions. In contrast, other ways of punishing a junior such as beating can lead to serious results and detrimental effects on his personality. Consequently, negatively punish is an accepted method of discipline. In conclusion, punishment is an essential requirement for children to be good adults and parents with teachers should know how to punish youngsters without hurting their personalities.