Many people, nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this. Do you think is a positive or negative development.

Due to the development of modern technologies, the smartphone has an important role in our everyday life. It is true that the majority of people, today, spend their leisure time using a smartphone. And I try to discuss the reasons for this view and give my opinion with examples in the same below. These days, the smartphone is one of the essential tools in our fast-paced world. Therefore the demand for this is increasing among people. There are various reasons for it. Firstly, it helps us to connect with other relatives or friends who are living far away. Compared to the past, it is really comfortable and easier. Because, back when technology was not well developed, people used to send their messages by post. Secondly, another reason is that this device is the best way to awareness of news. Because, today, there are different apps like Google, telegram, Instagram and so on smartphones. And we can find the latest news faster and easier than waiting in newspapers or journals. In addition to the benefits mentioned above, I agree that there are undeniable downsides. Recent research has shown that excessive use of smartphones leads to addictive behaviour on the telephone. What I mean by this, people surround themselves with the virtual world through this. As a result,the addictive nature of games or videos on YouTube or TikTok can be a serious distraction and cause people to focus on more important priorities. To sum up, if people spend their free time finding necessary pieces of information or news on their smartphone, of course, it is good and it is not a waste of time. However, while many people are at risk of abusing their phones, I think this is outweighed by the benefits.