Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today people are living a longer period when compared to the past. The retirement age of people around the world is 60 years. However, some people hold the view that, since people have a greater life span the retirement age of individuals should be increased which is more than 60 years. In my view, I completely disagree with the afford mentioned point and the following essay will elaborate further on my opinion. Commencing, nowadays we can see there is a plethora of older generation workforce in industries and some people retire from work at a very old age. Thus this brings negative repercussions to the organizations as well as to the government. First and foremost reason, with the development of technology old individuals, are unable to compete in industries since today every business is run through advanced devices and non of the organizations are using outdated machines or systems. Secondly, when compared to the younger generation people who are at retirement age are unable to hold a big capacity of work. As an example, some CEOs in companies are struggling to learn Information technology thus it is an essential part of a business. Therefore, individuals should reconsider that working above the retirement age will bring numerous drawbacks to them as well as their organizations. On the other hand, when the older population is not retiring from the age that is provided by the government this brings a negative aspect for the young people because the opportunities they have eventually become fewer. To exemplify, if a batch of doctors graduated from university are unable to find a job this happens when there are low recruitments in hospitals hence the older doctors have to be not retired accordingly. Furthermore, new generation folks have more advanced knowledge compared to the old because they have learned much more, so people at retirement age should give a chance to the new workforce to work in industries and allow them to explore. In contrast, even though folks live longer the age they should retire should not be changed because changing brings negative consequences such as less knowledge and the opportunities for young people reduces.