Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree.

Certain individuals imagine that books are no longer crucial as a source to entertain and inform them. This essay partly agrees with this perspective. It advances that there are newer and better spaces to find education and pleasure. However, people still collect hard-copy books for use in their spare time showing the tinges of the importance of book reading to a lower extent. These two ideas are developed in the discussion below. To begin with, books are tremendously losing relevance in teaching and entertaining individuals. This is because newer sources, such as the internet and television, are now being hugely consumed. For example, a recent 2023 study by Harvard University researchers found that 70 per cent of contemporary graduate students prefer researching in virtual spaces since these guarantee graphic materials, pictures and other content that is pleasurable. This is why books are really losing value. On the other hand, it is said that books are losing significance because they are not exciting to read. Nevertheless, people still keep books and collect them, never mind that book festivals are still highly appreciated in society. For instance, the same study at Harvard University found that most students reported that they keep a collection of books and novels in their home libraries. This showcases that to a lower extent, books are still important for information and entertainment. In conclusion, therefore, this essay partially supports the view that books are losing importance as a source of entertainment and information. While fresh sources such as the internet have emerged, books are not entirely old-fashioned because people still collect and keep them in their libraries. These factors were discussed in the essay.