Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Currently, although cycling does not cause environmental problems like other sorts of vehicles, it is difficult to become popular on roads. The root cause of this is due to slow speed and physical demands. However, operating several campaigns is a good way to stimulate publication utilising bikes. Firstly, One of the principal reasons for this is the slow pace of bicycles. In other words, riding bikes cannot reach destinations as fast as any transport on the roads. Consequently, it is not suitable for busy people who need to end up at certain places punctually so individuals tend to use the other vehicles instead of the bikes. For example, in 2019, the New York Times showed that 20000 workers gave up biking and transferred to cars because they seemed that cycling was not fast enough to commute to their offices. Secondly, another cause is that cycling also requires people to have strong physical health. To be more specific, unlike some transports, there are no engines inside the bikes so people easily get exhausted and burn out while riding them. Furthermore, bikes cannot protect people from several poor conditions which occur on the roads like bad weather, and debris. For instance, 5% of riders in Thailand did not use their bikes any more because they were not able to endure the heavy rain that happened constantly throughout 6 months. Nevertheless, conducting some marches is one of the methods in order to enhance the number of the population using bicycles. It must be recognized that these campaigns also warn people about the drawbacks of engined vehicles as they can threaten to habitats of humans, predominantly pollution. As a result, the publication will be aware of the need to possess the bikes and take them in more usage. Take Vietnam as an example here, where 2 social campaigns conducted every 3 months from 2020 also made 50000 bicycles appear on Vietnamese paths. In conclusion, riding a bicycle is far as becoming common in the ways because of its slow speed as well as the demand for physical health. However, making social marches is an excellent way to encourage bicycle use.