Online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Is it a positive or negative development?

Never have the topics concerning shopping failed to attract the public’s attention. However, when it comes to whether the trend that traditional shops are gradually replaced by online stores is beneficial or detrimental, even though there are both downsides and upsides to this trend, I still believe that it is an adverse development of the market. It is undeniable that online shopping will exert some positive effects. To begin with, the prevalence of online shopping can raise someone’s living standard, as it drives the development of relevant industries. A huge number of workers such as drivers and web developers are highly needed for merchandise delivery and website construction. With a steady source of income, they will live a better life. Apart from this, online stores may also help to curb the potential threats of monopoly. When online stores have made the information more transparent, this allows the customers to compare the products sold by different stores, including quality, design and price, and purchase the most suitable commodities, thus preventing some companies from monopolizing the market. However, there are still some drawbacks of online purchasing that should not be underestimated. Shopping online is likely to jeopardize the mutual trust between buyers and sellers, as some unscrupulous online markets sell counterfeits to deceive their customers. Since the consumers are devoid of the competence to distinguish whether the products shown online are genuine or not, people will possibly pay extra money for fake goods, which will jeopardize their interest and make them unwilling to purchase again. Moreover, the development of online shopping may undermine social stability. At present, both online stores and physical shops are confronted with fierce competition. Since the cost of running online stores is much lower than that of a real shop, online sellers are able to offer appealing discounts frequently to attract more customers; thus, fewer and fewer people will go shopping in a physical mall, which will possibly make some entrepreneurs go bankrupt. As a result, they are inclined to be underrated, underappreciated and underprivileged by others, which may make them take revenge on society to express their resentment and dissatisfaction. In conclusion, even though online shopping can have a positive impact on society, I am adamant that the demerits outweigh its merits. It’s not a good trend that online purchasing is taking the place of traditional retails.