Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has now such a big role in our life. Someone thinks that keeping public libraries open is a waste of time and money because a computer can easily replace them in its functions. I will discuss this topic highlighting why libraries are important not only because of storing and offering books but also for their pivotal social role. It's clear that a computer, or any other digital device, can easily do the function of storing books and offer scans of their pages to clients, but users would read these novels only through a screen which, firstly, may not be liked by readers who prefer paper books, in addition, can affect your eyes health in a long term compromising your sight. Furthermore, these places have another function besides the classical one. These places have a social purpose because they offer, for example, some courses about literature for free or there are usually a lot of desks where students can study together helping each other and sharing some experience, in fact, I use to study twice a day with my friends in this place and I find it very constructive and helps you to make bonds with people stronger. In conclusion,I strongly disagree with the opinion of shutting down all public libraries, and using computers instead. In my opinion is very important to keep these buildings open because not only they are keepers of our culture but also provide some services, as a gathering point, that are essential for our society.