Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste has become a vital problem in the current society as much non-recyclable waste has spread across the land and water. Many folks argue that governments should implement laws to encourage people in terms of recycling more waste from homes than it does currently. I agree with the statement of making it a legal requirement in order to save the environment. This essay is to discuss possible decisions that the government could implement. Firstly, implement a law to separate waste according to the types such as food waste, polythene and paper. Consequently, authorities are able to recycle garbage in big quantities, which leads to reduced environmental pollution. For an instance, a local area in Italy, introduced a law to charge a large amount of money from residents, unless they do not separate their garbage properly. This made the community, support the recycling process much better than it was prior to the law's establishment. Besides, governments can introduce rewarding schemas to appreciate the people who recycle their own garbage in their houses. For example, in Sri Lanka, some people use devices that turn food waste into fertilizers, and a few regional offices made a decision to purchase fertilizers at a good price, as a result,it encouraged many folks from other cities to use these devices. To conclude, governments should focus on reducing wastage by implementing laws, and rewarding programs which could improve the efficiency of the recycling process. Furthermore, it is an important duty to keep our environment clean by recycling our waste as much as possible.