Some people think that strict punishment for driving offenses is the only way to make roads safer. To what extent do agree or disagree?

It is believed that imposing severe penalties on drivers who violate traffic laws is the only viable measure to improve road safety. I strongly disagree with this statement because there are other ways to deal with this problem. There is no doubt that punishing road offenders can contribute to safer road conditions to some extent. If drivers were severely punished, they would be aware of the consequences of their behaviour, thus becoming more accountable for their behaviour while driving, which could lead to a lower accident rate. However, punishment alone is unlikely to eliminate irresponsible driving as accidents are caused by a complex set of different factors. Most accidents occur due to drivers ' misperception of risks: they assume that inattentive behaviours such as drinking a small amount of alcohol or occasionally answering the phone while driving will not lead to a devastating impact. In addition, a few accidents occur due to drivers ' poor driving skills, causing them to react incorrectly to unexpected conditions. Therefore, in order to reduce road accidents, more effective measures should be taken. For example, if governments reported more incidents caused by minor acts of inconsideration, drivers would be more aware of the potential risk of careless driving, thus becoming more disciplined. Drivers should also be encouraged to equip themselves with the skills to deal with urgent problems on the road. In conclusion, based on the above analysis and evidence, imposing heavy penalties on divers is not the only way to improve road safety. The Government must take a more holistic approach to this issue.