Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some specialists argue about the best age for learning a new foreign language as a school subject in either primary or secondary schools. It has its own positive and negative outcomes.I believe it has more benefits than drawbacks. Learning a new foreign language at primary school, on the one hand, has some benefits. Firstly, young children can learn faster and pick up a new language easily, because their brains are programmed to acquire it like their mother tongue. In addition, they can learn more effortlessly than older children, who receive education at secondary schools, as they can learn complex grammar and pronunciation spontaneously through watching cartoons or playing games. On the other hand, this has some disadvantages as well. There are many primary subjects in school curriculums, which may be more important than language subjects such as math and science, spending time on a new language can decrease children ’s performance in those subjects. Moreover, learning a new language at that age may confuse children about differences between the structure of the new language with their first language, which may delay the development of their first language. Nevertheless, these problems can be tackled by school authorities, they can employ some professional language teachers, who can teach children in a good way. Also, they can make language important as other subjects like math or science. In conclusion, the benefits of learning a new foreign language at primary school outweigh the drawbacks because children can learn it like their mother tongue without taking great effort, and they do not need to learn complex structures as it can be taught through many fun activities