Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often said that financial development is the most important aim for states. However, this issue is not entirely straightforward, and it is also thought that some fields are more crucial than the economy. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support economic development claim that money is a provider of welfare and other facilities. If a government had enough money, they would set up places to serve their folk by using it such as nursing homes, schools, and hospitals. Furthermore, supporters of the idea promote that the economy is evidence of power, especially when it comes to keen competition among countries. By, this we mean that money is a prime weapon for a government to be respected politically. For example, the authorities worldwide make an effort to have a good relationship with the United States which is the wealthiest country in the world. This demonstrates that financial progress should be a priority for countries. By contrast, those who oppose the statement highlight that education is as crucial as the economy for the population. By focusing on only finance to exclusion of education, we run the risk of a decrease in scientific development. Without proper education, we would fail to raise scientists who have the potential for making inventions, which causes a huge expense for states because they could have to buy science from other countries. For instance, during the pandemic caused by a subtype of coronavirus, developing countries had to spend too much money on vaccines instead of producing them, causing developed countries to make a profit from science. A final point is that healthcare services are also a priority for many people in the community according to the critics of the debate. If the folk of a place could access health services, they would not make any contribution to the economy because they would not focus on their job. In conclusion, I would tend to side with the opponents of the discussion. It seems to be that education and healthcare are as significant as finance. It is logical to conclude that the authorities should focus on these areas too as much as possible.