Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments should shift their focus from spending funds on training a small amount of elite Olympic athletes to investing in programmes that promote a healthy lifestyle for the general public. This statement resonates completely with my views which will be further discussed in this essay. Firstly, it is well known that in the modern era humanity is experiencing a rising problem of obesity and, consequently, health issues. Yearly, billions of dollars are dedicated to world sports games and, I believe, the governments do not allocate enough resources to build more local recreational centres, gyms and green parks where people can exercise. Such neglect may lead to an overall decrease in the quality of life as it is well known that a sedentary lifestyle and a lack of physical activity cause early death. Additionally, a significant part of people who enjoy watching sports games might have an unhealthy lifestyle. For example, one of the traditions to watch sports is while drinking beer, which is an alcoholic drink known to be toxic to the body. Secondly, although the Olympics could be politically important for the countries to compete with each other by showing off their athletes' training capacity and the amount of wealth to spend on the event, sports might not be a subject of interest for every single citizen. Thus, for some individuals, the games may not mean anything and these people could have benefited from the money wasted in a different way. In conclusion, despite the fact that the Olympics might be significant for the nations, I think that too much funding goes towards athletes' training and, at the same time, not enough local sports and health facilities are built. This leads to an increased level of an unhealthy population who may not even enjoy or attend the Olympics.