Nowadays, more and more people are moving from the countryside to cities, which are becoming overcrowded. What are the reasons for this movement to cities and what can be done to reduce it?

In recent times, many people have been migrating from rural to urban areas and the overpopulation of central cities has reached alarming levels. Though the reasons for this movement are countless, various job opportunities and better living standards in large cities play a dominant role in this situation. To prevent people from being replaced, governments can take proper measures. A fundamental reason for excessive migration from country sides to big cities is a lot of job openings for migrants in these places. In rural places there are a limited number of employment opportunities or existing ones pay low salaries, thus causing many people to fall victim to poverty conditions. For that reason, people are being forced to move to industrialized cities in search of high-paying job opportunities to make a reasonable income. Another reason that drives people to move to cities has to do with better living standards. More specifically, large cities always attract people with advanced services like high-quality education and health care facilities, better housing and transportation, high infrastructure and water supply whereas these amenities do not exist in villages which are far from cities. This, in turn, makes many people have the purpose of moving from undeveloped urban areas to cities, where there are a variety of conventions. However, there are several ways in which overpopulation in metropolises can be reduced. First, governments should create rewarding job opportunities and provide people with wealth-creating activities in poor areas to help people to rise out of poverty, which would mean people can afford their living expenses and basic needs. This measure would deter people from migrating to cities as this situation is driven by financial difficulties which stem from unemployment. Another way to reduce migration is to increase living conditions in the countryside. Governments should impose legislation on contractions of the whole area or district to create better infrastructure in these places. Careful and strategic planning of houses and other buildings like schools and hospitals can make the life of human beings more comfortable and beautiful than it is in the cities. The sooner governments apply these solutions in practice, the more people choose to live in villages where they have grown as opposed to moving into city centres. In conclusion, though the replacement of people to cities from rural areas is causing global concern about the increased population in urban areas, its leading causes can be tackled through governments creating new job openings and upgrading the living conditions in backward places.