More and more plastic is polluting cities, the countryside and oceans. What problems are caused by plastic waste? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that environmental pollution by plastic materials is on the rise most especially in urban and rural areas, as well as on beaches. There are several complications that result from this trend such as; outbreaks of diseases and the destruction of ocean life. But setting up government regulations and enacting laws will help curb this problem. To begin with, there are several difficulties that can arise from plastic pollution. Among those issues is the prevalence of illnesses such as malaria, thus affecting the quality of life. A heap of a plastic garbage can be the breeding place for mosquitoes and then mature fully to cause infections. A survey in Akim Oda in the Eastern Region of Ghana revealed a connection between the increased amount of plastic waste and the prevalence of malaria in the same town in the year 2020. In addition, most items made of plastics are found in abundance in oceans and other river bodies. These particles and materials release harmful chemicals which destroy the various species in water bodies. Consequently, this has major effects on the amount of fish available for human consumption since they hardly survive. In Ghana for instance, compared to the last five decades, there has been a drastic decline in the number of fish caught in various sea areas due to the effects of plastic pollution.  To combat these problems, lawmakers must enact rules and regulations to protect the oceans and various habitats. These may include, firstly, rules that fine people who are caught littering indiscriminately. Also, people should be employed to safeguard various water bodies. To add up, the government should periodically bring to the awareness of the public the benefits of having a plastic -free environment and the negative consequences of not taking proper care of the environs through health and sanitation education and ensure some regulations are done to ensure this information are easily accessible by all. In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that the amount of plastic waste on beaches, towns and cities is increasing rapidly and causing complications such as infertility and the death of ocean life, the government can take actions such as formulating laws to penalize people who litter around inappropriately.