The faculty at your university is considering a new course policy. The faculty is asking student to respond to an opinion survey. *student need to take a final exam to pass the course. Or *student need to complete a research project to pass the course.

While I do understand that there are several benefits of a student taking a final evaluation test to confirm a satisfactory pass of the course, I believe the option for a student to complete a research project as an indication of a pass is a better choice because it portrays a level of expertise in information gained and mastery of the topic domain in question. Firstly, information can only be ascertained to be gained when it is put to actual use. In addition, this will enable the student to display the level of information they have learnt during the course in question thereby confirming that a level of learning has taken place. For example, at the University of Derby, students must provide a writeup of 2000 words to confirm they have gained information from every course attended. More so, students require a platform to show the level of mastery of information they have gained extensively on a topic which may not be directly covered in classes. Hence this will help to showcase their level of research and creativity. For example, this can be seen at the University of Oxford where students have to provide extensive writeup on a subject matter. In Summary, the ability of a student to provide an authentic writeup that proves knowledge and exposure will be a great option. Thank you for giving us the chance to get involved in your decision-making process.