Nowadays, many physical retail shops (such as clothing stores) are being replaced by online shops. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that technology has changed many aspects of our lives, even in terms of shopping, where numerous companies and brands have switched to online markets as a convenient choice to sell their products. However, despite virtual retail shops replacing their physical counterparts, I would argue that this shift possesses more drawbacks, especially in terms of logistics and reliability. One positive feature of online stores is their convenience and ease to use. By just sitting in front of a computer screen, one can purchase anything, whether it is a book, a piece of decoration, or just a pair of shoes; indeed, multiple commodities can be bought with just one click from anywhere in the world. Thus, saving time and effort of reaching the traditional shops to look for the same desired products, or maybe they simply cannot be found there after all. Hence, shopping online is a hassle-free choice for those who are picky and sedentary individuals. Besides e-commerce's appeal to many, there are some downsides to relying on this service. Firstly, it is unreliable to test the items before buying. Take the example of clothes: nobody can try on a particular dress by merely watching it on the screen. Instead, the size number is input based on general fitting charts that even not all shopping websites provide; consequently, receiving that piece of garment is more likely to be unfit. Furthermore, another disadvantage is the exorbitant shipping costs which could be even higher than the purchased item itself due to different reasons, such as labour costs, customs, and taxes. For example, the cost of labourers transporting parcels and their wages are reflected in the shipping expenses. Taxes, on the other hand, can be included with shipping or air freights' rates when items leave and enter countries in transit. Hence, the more charged shipping rates, the fewer content shoppers. To conclude, although I acknowledge the merits of online shopping through virtual retail shops, I would not consider the transition from traditional stores to the previously mentioned ones feasible because of the extra charges and the inconvenience of providing trial services. Accordingly, if those issues do pose any problems for the buyers, more people will consider total dependence on e-commerce.