Some people say that watching TV programmes and movies related to crime are popular. Why do you think it’s popular and how does it affect society?

It is said that in some societies movies and Tv programmes in crime-related genres are becoming more commonplace among people. This essay will discuss the way in which it can affect society, as well as the reason why these movies are becoming more popular. The principal reason for the popularity of crime-related movies is that they are more exciting comparing other genres because it is mainly impossible to predict the story of these films and shows. Nowadays, for some, people life becomes tedious and repetitive. Working for long hours for some people becomes a boring routine with no excitation. As a result, crime-related movies provide the with a unique opportunity they can imagine themselves and become engaged in a virtual world full of mystery and excitement. For example, in some crime-related films background music and a daunting scene of tracking a criminal can make any viewer of the film excited because it is impossible to imagine what would happen in the next coming seconds. It is clear that watching these kinds of programmes can be very beneficial. By watching these films people become more aware of crimes which occur in society. The way characters in a film react to crimes and criminals can help the audience to imagine themselves as if it is happening in reality. Consequently, in case of any similar situation in the real world, they might be more knowledgeable of the way they can deal with the situation because once in a film they have seen a similar scenario. For instance, Sherlock Holmes is a popular series movie in the world in which there are lots of self-defence scenes. By watching this movie, viewers can learn some elementary self-defence rules. To conclude, crime-related Tv shows are becoming more popular and I believe they can bring about several positive effects on society and make aware of crimes which are common and make them ready in case of any confrontation in future.