Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Developing countries have been known for being the underdog when it comes to being part of cultural, political or economical changes. Nowadays, multinational corporations have been growing within these regions. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons that they could bring to customers as well as to small companies. First of all, having international shops would allow buyers to have a wider variety of places to choose from in low-income countries. For instance, they can find different tastes, designs and even prices. Going from a larger range of luxury to cheaper items. One example of this. can be the fashion industry. Shops like Versace, Louis Vuitton, Rolex, etcetera, have opened new locations in different counties increasing quickly their presence in these emergent nations like Asian countries' products that can be cheaper than local competitors. However, for small or independent businesses competing with these enterprises could rise the difficulty to achieve effective sales and get noticed by consumers in poor nations. it is often not easy to be in the same business with an emerging and international group. In order to compete, for example, they would need to lower their prices and pay more for advertising. Consequently, some small businesses tend to disappear. To conclude, it is important for a country to support these multinationals and offer a wide range of products to the local people. Although it is exciting to see new products, small stores may be affected by new enterprises. I truly believe that we have to be careful, as consumers, to balance out the consumption between these new companies and national competitors to let them grow.