A lot of people who wanted to become professional athletes give up this idea because of the fear of failure and parental pressure. Do you think that parents should support children who want a career in sports?

Fear of failure and parental advice are two of the reasons why people give up the idea to develop a career as a sportsman or woman. In my opinion, I strongly believe that parents should encourage their children who want to be athletes because supporting children is one of the main parent’s tasks and being an athlete is an achievable, healthy and well-paid goal. It is well known that parents are the biggest support for their children during childhood and that they trust their caregivers to feel confident in their decisions. Moreover, during these ages their personalities are not yet built and they demand parental support during their activities, which results in an increase in their self-esteem. For example, if teachers or parents tell children that they will fail during an activity, they will fail. For this reason, one of the parent’s tasks is to support their children's desires by training them to become athletes, while at the same time making sure that they maintain their curricular education. Another reason to support children who want to become athletes is that developing a career in sports is an achievable, healthy and well-paid job. There are thousands of people whose work is to play sports and compete against others in different sports, however, the number of astronauts in the world is fewer than in these professions. For instance, if children want to be footballers, they will have many teams and different divisions to try to develop their careers. Furthermore, they do not need to get into the Real Madrid team for living as a footballer, they might develop a brilliant career in other teams. To conclude, I believe that the main task of parents is to provide support to their children in their future careers while keeping focused on their curricular education. If they finally achieve their goal, they will have a healthy and well-paid job that will make them proud. Parents should support their children ’s goals, and at the same time give them the necessary tools to face their own challenges by themselves.