People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It's considered that people born in the present day can have a longer life expectancy than previous generations. This phenomenon contributes to positive and negative implications. On the one hand, longer life expectancy gives an opportunity to live more years and contemplate technological advances. Population age has increased in recent decades due to improved living standards such as inclusive access to a sanitary system and proper diet. Therefore, everyone can live longer, and as it is known, life is an invaluable gift that should be enjoyed at every moment. Given that, an increased life expectancy gives a chance to profit life for longer. Furthermore, life is constantly changing in terms of technological evolution, for example, from the creation of the telephone to nowadays smartwatch that has the function of the telephone, among other functions. So, living longer implies contemplating these kinds of technological advances. On the other hand, the fact that people can live longer leads to a decline in natality and an increase in retirement age. As people live longer, they postpone giving birth to a child, and often, this attitude conducts them not to do it at all. Consequently, natality decreases as a population gets older, which simultaneously increases the retirement age since there is a lack of workforce to satisfy demands of taxes to proportionate pensions, given that pension payments are taken from taxes payments. For example, before the general retirement age was 65 in Spain, in actuality, to retire, one must be over 67 due to the low natality rates that the country experiments. In conclusion, the increased life expectancy has positive implications, such as those mentioned. Nevertheless, negative implications should also be considered because of their social-economical impact on society, such as the ageing population and pension contribution issues.