Public celebrations (national days, festivals) are held in many countries. Some people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that the money allocation for special events has become a main concern for economies. While some people believe that the money ought to be spent more carefully to cover society's needs, I firmly agree that special events are the main contributors to preserving the culture and there is a significant economic return opportunity. This essay will elaborate on my position with relevant arguments and examples. The foremost reason to support my view is that participating in the national days contributes to raising awareness about common values. This is because these days have significant importance for a country, and they are beneficial for future generations to remember past victories and shared sufferings. For instance, National Veteran Days in the U.S. increase public awareness, which helps young adults prepare for future challenges and shows them how they can be prepared for a threat. Therefore, it may shape people's behaivour becoming good citizens. Furthermore, another reason to justify my stance is that a wide range of organisations may bring about meaningful changes in city development because they attract many people who want to experience the atmosphere. As a result, it can benefit from these enormous economic returns not only at the local level but also at the country level. To illustrate, last year a Montreal local business owner made a significant profit from St. Patrick's Day. This clearly demonstrates that the special days are a major contributor to people's budgets. In conclusion, although the government needs more money to invest in building roads, public centres, I firmly maintain that the government should provide enough resources to fund special events assisting in the local community.