In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem.

Several people in the world are still facing food deprivation regardless of progress and improvements achieved in the agriculture sector. This can be due to a rapid increase in population, pandemic, and country-specific economic and political situation. Organizations like the World Food Program and the government should provide assistance to alleviate the food shortage problems. The size of the world population has been constantly growing which means we have more mouths to feed and less space for staples to grow on. This was the case even before the pandemic hit us and then the food shortage was getting worse because lots of people including farmers and factory workers stopped working and stayed at home to avoid being transmitted. The food shortage problem is more serious in countries facing political tension such as war. For example, people are facing a food crisis due to growing fields and food distribution channels have been damaged and disrupted due to the civil war in Myanmar. In addition to it, the country’s worsening economy contributes to high inflation and currency depreciation which leads to imports being more expensive to consume. There are a few measures which the government can take to solve the insufficient food supply to its people. They can support local farmers by means of providing financial grants, land, seeds, fertilizer and tools to grow produce efficiently and fill the gap in the nation’s food deficit. An international intervention like direct food package supplies and cash grants to families in need if the government is not able to provide sufficient support to its people. In conclusion, millions of people in many countries are still facing starvation although there is visible advancement in agriculture. Respective governments should prioritize and implement plans to make sure enough food is available to all families on their own and sometimes with the help of international organizations.