Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Television has become a main source of entertainment nowadays. It is often argued, that people spend their spare time mostly watching shows and movies broadcasted by the entertainment source, which makes them lethargic and minimises the time they spend on networking with others. I agree with this point of view and this essay will discuss the reasons. Firstly, spending free time in front of the television, could make people less active and result in health issues. Among, children cartoons and anime series have become extremely popular and the entertainment industry has been catering to the need in different ways. This ultimately results in kids spending most of their time watching the broadcasted shows instead of engaging in activities such as outdoor sports and reading books. For instance, a survey conducted in Sri Lanka showed, a quarter of the younger generation suffers from obesity and the main reason is that they spend most of their time seated watching television. Hence, engaging in outdoor sports could help children be more active, compared to spending time on television. Secondly, adults spend their leisure time watching prime- time shows, which prevents them from socialising with friends. With stressful career and responsibilities, the working population always seek ways to destress themselves. Television has been taking over this need and people have become less interested in catching up with friends over a period of time. For example, the Premier League is telecasted for over a period of nine months during the prime hours, research shows that three-quarter of the youngsters in India spend their time watching the match. This results in people having smaller networks. In conclusion, with the entertainment industry becoming more creative in capturing people, the time spent watching television has also increased, resulting in a growing lazy population and shrinking networks.