The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The highly increased population around the world gives us the greatest problem that mankind has ever faced in history. I remember the time when the world’s populace was around 6 billion, and nowadays we are talking about a number that is between 8 and 9 billion people living on the Earth. Taking my age into consideration, it means, that this number was elevated by 3 billion in the past 30 years. In my essay, I try to reveal the causes of the continued rising tendency and my thoughts about the issue. First of all, we have to examine the reasons, why productivity could grow this fast in the past few decades. Mankind did not face any serious damage after world war 2, and the circumstances were ideal for this growth. The economical background, more than enough foodstuff supply, and less starvation gave us the possibility to let the population grow. In my opinion as the food supply of the Earth will not be enough for the population, starvation will grow very fast. As long as it reaches a certain level, hundreds of millions of hungry people will cry for food and will die in a slow and painful way. But there is another key factor in the case, which means that this rise happened mostly on the less developed side of the world, for example in India, or in the African continent. Giving birth is a very serious decision, which requires responsibility from parents for at least 18 years. Without education, this remains a basic instinct for people to reproduce themselves, rather than a clever way to build a family. In conclusion, I do agree with the governments when they try to give solutions for the emptying foodstuff supply problem on the Earth, and at the same time, they also try to give education to the citizens of the less developed countries about the responsibility of giving birth.