Goverments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

The state of the premises where people reside has a crucial impact on their lives, hence, managing the affairs of their surroundings should be the duty of those residing in it. I totally agree, and here are my reasons On the one hand, it is the duty of the government to take care of all the regions within its jurisdiction, ensuring that it is safe and habitable, there is a limit to what the government can do even with the availability of funds. It is so because there can not be an attachment to all the areas under her authority as will be felt by locals from that neighbourhood. For instance, a neighbourhood with a single school in it will naturally have its residents develop an attachment to the school, striving to ensure it is in the best possible condition as it's the only place their kids can study. On the other hand, residents of the local community see their environment as a part of their life, they hold it in high esteem, and caring for it now becomes their life and not just a job. For example, in my community, after the failure of the power transformer installed and managed by the state; which lasted for about three years, the authorities secured another transformer but made the residents responsible for it, it's been over ten years now and it's still in use, because they saw it as belonging to them, so are always keen to ensure it is optimally functioning. In conclusion, while not de-emphasizing the important role government has to play, ensuring the locals are responsible for their environment is the way to go.