Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

Nowadays, it has been observed that people hardly connect with their nearby residents This is due to the nature of the job and personality traits of most people. However, it can be alleviated by initiating social media connections and forming community groups. I will explicate these in the coming paragraphs with a logical conclusion. There are two main factors, which could be; the nature of the job and personality traits such as introvert. To start with, as a result of the kind of work of some people, they barely have the time to relate with their neighbours. Some residents have a type of job that requires them to work for long hours and only give a day off to rest, therefore, they do not have the chance of relating with their fellow dwellers. For instance, a lady who works at a company leaves home to resume by 7am and comes back by 9pm rarely has time to associate with her by-dwellers. In addition, owing to the type of personalities such as introverts, some individuals tend not to have an interest in communicating and connecting with those in their neighbourhood. For example, an introverted man prefers to stay indoors in his apartment to get acquainted with his neighbours. Thus, it is clear that the form of work and personality traits of many individuals can bring about fellow dwellers not relating with one another. There are some strategies that can be used to encourage connections among residents. Firstly, a form of social media connections can be made for those in a particular neighbourhood with a tight type of job so as to create a platform for communication and getting to know each other between them. To illustrate, a community that contains people with people that work for long hours created a WhatsApp page for introduction and connection of their residents. Furtherly, another way to confront this issue is by organizing community groups that will encourage each member to be accountable for one thing or the other. For instance, a community formed an association for the dwellers and mandated each resident to attend meetings as well as relate with each other. Hence, these will help people with tight working hours and even introverts. To conclude, It is obvious that the nature of work and personality traits of individuals can be the reason residents rarely connect with each other. However, creating social media connections and community groups are ways of addressing these issues.