People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life. What are the most significant of these problems? How can these problems be tackled?

Nowadays, more and more people tend to live in a big city for a better income and more convenience. However, it is very clear that they may face a lot of issues when they reside in a metropolitan area. In this essay, I will discuss several significant problems and suggest ways to manage them. Certain features of urban life tend to have several negative impacts. Perhaps the most significant one is traffic jams. It is reported that it may usually take up to 2 hours for residents to commute 18 kilometres by car to work during rush hours in Beijing. Consequently, people may feel exhausted and less productive at work or get angered easily while at home. Housing price is another matter, too. Salary increase contradictory to property pricing does deter people from having their own home. Thus, they have to live in a low-income rented flat without good condition of living standards such as no hot water, and even an attached toilet. Clearly, living conditions in big cities show the downsides. To combat this, the government needs to take action. One option is to improve the public transport network by investing money in how to settle effective transport hubs as well as measuring traffic flows to enhance the road signboards. In terms of the property price, it is suggested to have a subsidy fund, particularly for low-income households. Giving a low-interest rate of 2% for a mortgage loan is a good example, or the government can also develop economic residential compounds so that those people afford it. In conclusion, it is very common that people in urban areas to face traffic jams and housing issues. However, if the government provide better support for accommodation and builds on more effective public transport, those matters ultimately can be resolved.