Some teachers think it is effective for students to study in groups while others think is it better to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a variety of approaches to achieving efficacious academic performance. Some reckon that collaborative learning facilitates the exchange of ideas and thoughts over challenging subjects and is better able to address issues. However, I believe an individual learning environment encourages higher academic performance. On the one hand, studying in a group can be incredibly helpful in clarifying any doubts or conceptual issues. Individual learning can be frustrating when encountering difficult concepts that no one is around to offer help. For example, studying in a group has a major benefit because it enables individuals to ask their classmates or their colleagues who are from the same course as them for help. This greatly promotes the understanding of challenging theories with explanations from their friends. Moreover, joint study motivates students to learn more and put in more effort to conquer an issue together. This is because many pupils derive energy from being around other people and look forward to learning and discussing materials with fellow classmates. On the other hand, some people may not agree with this notion as they think studying alone promotes concentration on a particular project. When someone studies alone, there are certainly fewer distractions in their surroundings, which allows them to focus on solving a complex question. For instance, pupils do not have to worry that their classmates will ask them for help and therefore interrupt their thinking process, and their learning session will turn into a hangout activity in which they may chat, talk or even play computer games instead of concentrating on their studies. Consequently, studying individually frees learners from being distracted by their peers and prevents unproductive learning experiences. In my opinion, I agree with the idea that studying alone is better able to facilitate productive learning. Studying individually allows pupils to adjust their schedules according to their academic and professional lives, as well as their personal preferences. For example, some students may prefer to study at night than during the day as they may better be able to focus in a silent and quiet atmosphere to catch up with their studies. Learners can rearrange and prioritise their tasks in any order to concentrate better. Sometimes there may be ego clashes between students in the group about the understanding of an idea, which will harm the learning environment. There are no such risks in individual learning. In a nutshell, while I understand that some people prefer to study with their peers or friends as they may find it motivating and inspiring them to proceed with their understanding, I would argue that studying in isolation promotes a more effective and productive learning experience as it helps an individual to concentrate and focus on a certain topic without being distracted by their peers, and study at their own pace for which they may find more efficacious for them.