Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people have different views on how medical research should be conducted and tested. Although many people support the use of animal experimentation for developing medicines, I personally believe that animal testing is morally wrong. On the one hand, there are two main reasons supporting the use of animals for trial testing. Firstly, the verification of new products by a human being is a risky process. Hence, scientists choose animals with similar anatomy to humans, and to minimize the suffering they use numerous painkillers. For example, two years ago, a new polio drug was tested in the countryside of Balochistan on a number of children, resulting in some disabled children. Therefore, it is a precautionary measure to first test it in something other than humans. However, I would strongly agree with those who believe that animal experiments are immoral because research using animals does not justify the suffering they must endure. If testing is required, there are animal alternatives that can serve the desired purpose. Nowadays, computerized human models are available that give identical results. In addition, the reaction of a drug in an animal’s body is quite different from the reaction in a human. Specifically, approximately 90% of medicines that pass tests on animals fail on people. That’s an enormous waste of money, animal lives, scientific resources and hope. In conclusion, although it is undoubtedly true that animal testing has helped scientists in drug developments and medical discoveries, I believe that the benefits to humans do not justify the pain of animals. So, researchers should use alternative methods to carry out research