Some people think our first impression of someone is important, while others think we should not judge another person so quickly and should take our time to know them better. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some argue that there is an importance of first impressions whereas others believe that allotting time for them and not giving a judgement is better. Although the first meeting might help a person on how to react to them, I believe that giving them a chance and time to go against my view of them will eliminate feelings that should not be entertained. On the other hand, having an early impression of someone might help a person how to approach them. By doing this, they will be able to know how they will act and behave toward them. For instance, there are individuals that have an appearance and aura that is intimidating and unapproachable so assigning them to a job that requires many interactions with customers might not be good because people will inevitably judge that somebody's looks. Besides, the appearance of a person is the first thing that will be seen by other people and so leaving a good first impression will be unforgettable. However, I believe that a conclusion should not be used as a basis because this could be changed by their next behaviour and reactions. Those on the other side of the argument, taking time to get to know someone and giving them a chance to show that they are more than what they look like is better because prejudice could be avoided by both individuals. For example, a new employee has started working in the company and they are usually prone to mistakes which should be seen as normal and so giving them space to grow and develop is a must. As fellow colleagues, they should have known and understood what a beginner must be feeling. They should be able to correct and guide them on how they will improve themselves. I believe that providing them with the benefit of the doubt could help both sides to understand each other. In conclusion, the first impression gives insight to a person on how to approach another however, giving space to improve or change their actions is more important because it only causes prejudice which should be harboured.