In recent times, many people are using prescription medications to combat depression and anxiety. What are the causes of this increasing depression? What are some solutions?

Chemical anti-depressants are becoming much more widely used due to increased rates of depression and anxiety. This essay will explore the reasons why people are becoming more depressed and explore ways to deal with this problem. There are a number of contributing factors that have led to this increase in depression in the modern world. First and foremost, people are becoming more isolated than they used to be. Humans have, until very recently, always existed in tribes, but as our modern independent society has disbanded these tribes, people are left on their own. Along with this, people ’s lifestyles are changing for the worse. These days, people are generally not exposed to nature, sunlight and fresh air because of the increasing concentration of populations in cities. In the absence of these natural anti-depressants, it is no surprise that people are becoming more miserable. However, there are actions that can be taken by both individuals and society to deal with this problem. At a personal level, people need to pay attention to their psychological needs, not just their physical ones. They should try to maintain a balanced life that does not neglect spending time outdoors or with family and friends. Changes in societal attitudes and approaches are also a necessary step towards decreasing the epidemic of depression. For example, companies and governments should explore shorter working weeks or reduced hours to enable people to be financially able to spend more time taking care of themselves. In conclusion, while it is clear that the way people live these days is contributing to increased rates of depression, it is also clear that meaningful changes can be made that would ensure this problem is mitigated