In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that in developed nations, the average life is increasing due to the development of health services, and medical technology improvement. Although there will undoubtedly be some adverse consequences that affect the lives of the people of those countries. Nowadays, as people live longer as well as the population from developed nations grows older, there are a number of related problems that can be anticipated. The main issue here is that if people live longer, there are obviously more people in retirement age who will be able to receive a pension. The proportion of younger working adults will be smaller than older retirement people, and then the governments and industries will receive less money in taxes in relation to the size of the population. In some countries, an ageing population will be a greater tax burden on working adults. Furthermore, it will affect the nation’s health care system. It is true that nowadays, our health care system has developed extremely quick and modern but there are still a number of limits that we ought to take look after. For example, Large hospitals in cities often have modern equipment, but the quantity is limited. If there are many old people, it will cause overcrowding in those hospitals, and the cost of medical examination and treatment at hospitals is frequently quite high, so it will put great pressure on the country's economy. There are several ways that governments and industries could solve these problems. Firstly, there is a simple solution that is to increase the retirement age, nowadays retirement age is around 60 years old for men and 55 for women, we can increase it to 65-70 for men and 60-65 for women. People at this age nowadays can still be healthy and have a productive working life. Secondly, governments and industries can encourage immigration in order to increase the number of working adults who pay taxes. Finally, the money from national budgets will be used to increase the quality of health care services, accommodation, and transport facilities for the rising of older citizens. In conclusion, there are various ways that can be taken to solve the problems of ageing society growth.