Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

People hold different views about the benefits of using animals in medical research. While a number of people believe that this phenomenon is justified, I would argue that it is unethical and meaningless to do animal experiments. On the one hand, most people believe that laboratory animal has contributed to many methods of treatment and life-saving interventions. In fact, a wealth of 100 medical advances resulted from using animals in exploring how organisms function. For example, the experiment of removing a dog’s pancreas directly led to the discovery of insulin - an important substance for saving the lives of diabetic patients. Moreover, the similarity between the DNA of mice and humans can be essential in the quest to understand human diseases and to develop new treatments. Consequently, people will have more confidence in the quality of new drugs when they are released to the public after being tested on animals. On the other hand, I firmly hold the view that animal experimentation is cruel and unacceptable. I believe that the lives of all living beings should be respected because the benefits of medical research to humans do not justify the suffering of animals. Governments should invest in developing alternative methods that can replace the use of creatures in developing new medicine. For instance, using computer models allow researchers to test cancer drugs on human tissue by reappearing the human immune system. In this way, no animals will have to undergo medical testing and society can still benefit from development. In conclusion, despite the importance and apparent benefits of researching animals, I believe that animal testing is cruel and should be stopped.