In Many Countries, People Are Now Living Longer Than Ever Before. Some People Say an Aging Population Creates Problems for Governments. Other People Think There Are Benefits If Society Has More Elderly People. To What Extent Do the Advantages of Having an Aging Population Outweigh the Disadvantages?

Nowadays, individual's life span is increasing and they are living longer compared to earlier period. People have multiple opinions on this, some feel that the old population increases the burden on the government, although, others argue that there are more benefits to society and I strongly believe in the latter opinion and I will examine it in the essay further. Out of all arguments, the strongest one to prove my point is that elder people have more knowledge and experience of life, they teach their children or grandchildren various things. For instance, what career might be successful, great life lessons and how to deal with critical financial situations. In fact, elder people help increase the total income of the country as well because many aged individuals are into small businesses such as selling knitted items. Apart from this, grandfathers or grandmothers take care of their grandchildren when the parents go to work. This also encourages many women to do jobs as they already have someone who looks after them at no cost. Also, retired people do not completely depend on the government, they already have their life savings and can live a good life on their own and even if some people do not have monetary resources, there are many other organisations that take care of old individuals. For example, various NGOs and old age homes are operated by private persons or companies who provide them with shelter, food and other necessary items. On the other hand, I may not overlook the fact that due to the increasing number of aged humankind, the population also increases which leads to higher government resource utilization. Such as, the government has to spend more money on hospitals as the elder population is more prone to diseases than the younger generation. Thus, to conclude the topic, I am of the opinion that elder people can never be a burden to anyone and there are more advantages to having ageing population than disadvantages.