At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? People have a myriad of views on whether the population of countries should be a higher composition of young people instead of aged people in order to have better development. While I accept that some elderly are experienced to give vulnerable skills, never should we overlook the drawback of lacking ability of physical strength, which ruins the future development of the countries. Among the benefits of increasing the number of old people in a country, probably the first significant reason is preserving some vulnerable traditional skills in Hong Kong. Since many youngsters don't want to pursue their careers in the traditional culture, those skills are being disappeared. For instance, many youngsters don't know the paper crafting techniques. They can't use bamboo sticks to make handicrafts. Hence, losing the traditional cultures would harm the countries to have all-round development. Another noticeable benefit is that aged people have more experience and linkage in society, they can provide guidance to society. Therefore, more young people can learn from their experiences and minimise the opportunity of poor result happen. Although there are more pros of having more elderly in society, I believe that there are more downsides than upsides. The most vital benefit is having more young people in order to provide their bodies and professional skills to society. As the 12-year compulsory free education scheme implements in Hong Kong, young adults are mostly well-educated, which is in turn the countries to become knowledgeable. It may help to create some new inventions or ideas to enhance the city’s growth. Another significant benefit is that young people have better physical health, and they can participate in manual work. Construction workers are the prime example to explain it. Those occupations are mainly required for young adults instead of ours. Therefore, by providing energy to youngsters, the rapid new developments of countries can be easier established. Under this line of thinking, although there are undeniable advantages of having more elderly in a society to aid in the traditional culture preservation, it is believed that there are even more benefits of more young adults providing skills and energy for the physical development of the countries.