Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

Lethal prosecution of violent criminals is still performed in some countries, although you will probably not find those in Western cultures. Are there pros and cons for this procedure? This will be analyzed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, killing criminals by lethal injection, electricity, or even hanging is, unbelievable or not, still performed in many nations all over the world. The possible benefit may consist of a deterrent effect on other criminals. One who has ever seen a punishment like that will without any shred of doubt think twice about a possible crime committed in the future. Furthermore, you could point out that the problem with this particular person will be solved forever: once killed you cannot get back to your bad habits. On the other hand, it seems reasonable why modern industrial nations abandoned this penalty. Not only is it a cruel technique, but also will the idea of rehabilitation of former prisoners vanish. To expose a human being to such grave pain and sorrow was also applied in medieval times, and therefore, this practice exposes a great contrast to our modern society. The chance of finding a way back to normal life will consequently be diminished as well. Furthermore, one should take into consideration that innocent people could be killed, sometimes even on purpose. As can be seen in many dictatorships, the death penalty is a convenient method to get rid of members of the opposition. Finally, in my opinion, there exists no reasonable need for such a punishment benefiting from more sophisticated methods to deal with violent criminals like prison followed by rehabilitation. This practice should belong to former preindustrial times.