The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs enormous government expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether the expenditure which was raised from taxes should spend on old buildings preservation or the construction of modern buildings. While some argue that it should be better to cost on innovative development, I strongly agree that it’s significant to expend a certain expenditure for the restoration of ancient buildings. To begin with, traditional buildings are essential parts of civilization development and cultural identity. To be more specific, since ancient constructions represent respective local cultures and display aesthetic value, it has become the name cards of the cities. For instance, temples in Japan just become its nation’s symbol thus they are appealing to foreigners from worldwide to go sightseeing and realize the local tradition with regard to Japan. Besides, Old and historic buildings are the symbol of a nation or a city’s unique culture and civilization. Consequently, if the government ignores the repair of heritages, it may cause the irreversible loss of cultural roots. Moreover, the preservation of aged buildings allows the nation to largely boost its tourism industry. As we know, plenty of countries, such as Italy, have earned billions of revenues from the tourism sightseeing of national heritages every year. Seeing that tourists would like to witness a country’s iconic ancient constructions, such as Colosseo in Italy, the preservation actions can not only attract travelers but also enhance the economy. Therefore, it can not overemphasize the importance of doing some methods to protect traditional buildings. In conclusion, despite the fact that the protection of aged buildings may spend a certain of expenditure from the government, the benefits, such as boosting the economy, and preservation of the root of culture, will far outweigh the costs.