Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often assumed that the young generation prefers to have some spare time which is called a gap year before they enter to job career or university. During this period, they have a chance to develop their personality and travel to distant places. Such travels can be seen as hugely beneficial, a way of developing a person's interest and understanding of the world, or alternatively viewed as days spent irresponsibly. Therefore, as far as I am concerned the first group have a better point due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. For many people, any kind of travel is an important experience in expanding a person's worldview. Furthermore, although some crowds may spend part of that day in resorts, many more do voluntary work or backpack and gain a huge amount from the experience. For example, the student comes back home having done charity or learnt a language in a different country. Ultimately, to explain my point, travelling will help them find employment on their return. Similarly, nations criticise these years on the basis that the person is wasting money instead of earning it. For many people, a student should begin work as soon as he or she has finished university since a period of doing nothing is simply an extendable, self-indulgent holiday. For instance, visiting too many places within a stage can be expensive and it will be a burden for your family to pay for your expenditure. Finally, while some of the public sees such a period of time as unproductive, it should be remembered that a great deal can be achieved at that age. By way of example, In my opinion, taking a trip can reduce our stress and feel energized for the next step in our lives. To sum up, in summary, I would like to make it clear by saying that whilst it is true some people may spend a while on the beach wasting moments and money, many more populations will find out a great deal about the world around them and themselves during a time of relaxation and it is, therefore, therefore a beneficial experience.