Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With advancements in technology, some inventions such as smartphones have affected every aspect of our lives. Nowadays, the majority of juveniles are busy with their phones and spend their time on this fantastic platform. Some features such as the existence of video games and social media make it the best device for them. Although it is a good facility for the public, in my opinion, it would have some drawbacks that I will mention later in this essay. The first and perhaps the most significant reason for the popularity of these advanced phones is accessibility to each type of video game. To illustrate, the majority of youngsters have acclimatized to virtual games. For example, based on a study conducted on high school students in Japan, almost 80 per cent of them spent nearly 2 hours a day playing games on their phones. In addition, social media is another amenity in these promoted objects which helps the young community to socialize and entertain. Despite the fact that people used to spend their spare time going out or camping, now, children would rather stay at home and enjoy their free time seeking different web pages and applications. Therefore, it would be more likely for offsprings to pass their time through their mobile phones. On the other hand, these magic tiny devices could influence children negatively. Firstly, smartphones have known as a most significant distraction for children. Children can not concentrate on their study and their assignments because most of them are addicted to their phones. For instance, it is estimated that school achievements of students have decreased by 25% compared to the recent 20 years. Moreover, family attachment also has been influenced by mobile phones. Most teens spend their quality time on their phones, and they do not enjoy their time with their families; subsequently, their relationships would be faded. To sum up, based on the arguments cited above, although new technologies such as smartphones are popular among the new generations, their negative consequences can threaten children and their families. It is the government's responsibility to educate people on how to use new inventions in a way that they do not harm.