Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is that? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

Cycling has long been considered an effective way of improving physical health and reducing the risk of obesity. However, in recent decades, there has been a prevalent trend for people to use bicycles less to commute. This trend could be ascribed to the overdependence on motorised vehicles and the shortage of dedicated paths for bicycles. To address this problem, the government should impose a tax on cars and motorcycles, and use this money to construct more bicycle lanes. There are several reasons as to why people hesitate to choose bicycles as a form of transport. The most prominent reason is the overreliance on modern means of transport, such as cars and motorbikes, which are faster and thus perceived to be more suitable for long journeys than bicycles. Another convincing reason is that in many countries in the world, including Vietnam, there are no dedicated cycling paths for bicycles. This means that cyclists in these places would have to ride in the same lane as motor vehicles, which is without doubt a dangerous practice. To promote the use of bicycles as a means of transport, the government should adopt both of the following measures. The authorities should first impose a heavy tax on motor vehicles. This tax would discourage people from using cars and motorbikes, and encourage them to switch to bicycles, a human-powered land vehicle. The government should then allocate this tax money to the construction of cycling paths for citizens. If a system of cycling paths was well-developed, people would use bicycles more because they may then consider these vehicles a safe and convenient mode of transport. In conclusion, the unpopularity of bicycles could be attributed to the overdependence on modern means of transport and the shortage of designated cycling paths. To motivate people to cycle more, the authorities should therefore introduce a tax on cars and motorbikes and expend the money collected from this tax on constructing dedicated paths for cyclists.