Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is claimed that committing an offence can be caused by some factors coming from social issues and poverty, while others believe that it may be native to negative nature. From my personal perspective, I think that social problems are certainly the primary cause of crime. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people have a tendency to hold a belief that those who have bad natures can be lawbreakers. First, if someone had some negative qualities such as greediness, laziness, or selfishness, they can become would-be criminals because they do not want to work but they have to lead their lives. Thus, they often take part in criminal activities to earn money. Second, they are aggressive to everyone to demonstrate their ego or they have had mental illness since they were children. For instance, a juvenile delinquent bullying his or her classmates has a tendency to break the law when he or she is older. On the other hand, I believe that social problems and poverty play a crucial role in crimes. It can be clearly seen that unemployment can directly cause many problems in society. Becoming unemployed means that they do not have work to earn enough money in order to meet their basic needs, resulting in minor crimes such as pickpocketing and shoplifting or even serious crimes like robbery and murder. In addition, poverty makes them lack education and have low self-esteem, which means that no firms want to recruit them. Therefore, they often think of breaking laws to support themselves and their families. To elucidate, some undeveloped countries such as Zimbabwe or Sudan, have witnessed an escalating rate of crimes over recent years. In conclusion, there are many objective reasons such as social problems and poverty or detrimental person's nature that make people become a lawbreaker. However, I believe that poverty and social issues are the main causes because of their heavy impacts on people.