Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative a negative development?

Nowadays, the amount of time children spend on their mobile phones is more than ever. Since we are living in the digital era, it is natural for everyone to spend much more time on their smart gadgets, and children are not excluded. I believe that recent changes in our lifestyle have affected children, and I do not consider this habit a desirable one for them. Currently, children have a surprising amount of screen time, which, in my opinion, can be a result of their observations. To explain more, observation is the main source of learning for them, and what are they witnessing? Their parents' behaviour. A child would love to copy them, and when mothers and fathers are obsessed with their cell phones, it has a surprising impact on their children. Furthermore, children have a considerable amount of free time, and they need to pick an activity to do in it. In the past, they could play with their siblings, or spend quality time with their caretakers. However, these days, most children are the only child. In addition, people are too busy with their work to allocate enough time to their children. As a result, their loved ones will feel lonely and bored, and try to communicate with their online friends instead. Overall, I believe that the limitation of leisure activity options for children causes this problem. It is obvious that using smartphones can benefit children, but the disadvantages of that outweigh the advantages. Firstly, since there is a considerable amount of adult content available on the Internet, children should be supervised while surfing the web, and parents are not able to do that all the time. Secondly, if a child spends all their time communicating with online friends, they will be having problems with their social skills, and they might not be able to perform well in person. This might exacerbate the loneliness condition they were already in. Finally, it is scientifically proven that the amount of screen time has a positive association with struggling with mental disorders, such as anxiety and depression. To conclude, I restate that the main reason for children overusing smartphones is the lack of quality time with their parents, and the limitation of their free time activities options. I also suggest that due to all the dangers they will face while using a smartphone, this can not be considered a positive development.