Should long term job-seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do vouluntary work to give something back to society?

It cannot be denied that permanent jobs offer some facilities that are secured by the government. I am of the view that in terms of receiving social and economic benefits, people who are looking for full-time jobs can contribute to society through their voluntary activities. Though it would be beneficial for communities as a whole there should not be any restricted laws to make this compulsory. Generally speaking, a significant amount of people who are educated try to secure a long and beneficial occupation according to their expertise. Firstly, graduates and others who are in the competition for securing a flexible job both expect to receive social security. This is because, workers have to pay taxes. As a result, they think the government will facilitate a number of securities that are related to living a stress-free life. For instance, in most of the developed countries employees are obliged to pay taxes and different kinds of VAT. By paying taxes, people expect the government will manage to provide them with social security such as medical insurance, free education facilities for children and so on. If the government make it a law that people have to do voluntary work to receive official benefits, it will make people demotivated. As it will be a mandatory requirement, employees start to think it is a part of their jobs and they do not participate wishfully. Voluntary activities should be enjoyable as well and people who will take part in their self-interests should be counted. Like, employees can help unemployed persons by teaching them how to write resumes or how to develop communication skills but it should come naturally. In conclusion, my point of view is that voluntary activities are necessary and beneficial for communities to bring equality. But making it mandatory for people who are expecting government facilities will make it look like an investment,not a selfless contribution.