In many cities, there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With constant development in urban areas, our disposable spaces in the city limit are gradually becoming insufficient, for further construction, some obsolete buildings suggested to be destroyed. While knocking down buildings might lead to traffic jams and ruin the historical heritage, I still believe such disadvantages are outweighed by the advantages. To begin with, knocking down the old building and reconstructing might cause serious traffic congestion in the city for a certain period. It usually takes a long time to design and rebuild the areas, and this will inevitably affect the resident’s life by causing inconvenience with their commute time to work. In addition, urban renewal may destroy the ancient sites as well. In Tainan County, for instance, the reason that their urban development is making no progress is because there are several historical sites existing underground at this moment, although broadening their city's extent by excavating some ancient building is necessary sometimes, their urban development keep interrupted by their innate geographical location. With this fact, some of the historical sites are demolished by urban renewal, and finally, they all disappear permanently. On the other hand, even though modernizing the city has several drawbacks, they are not insurmountable and are outweighed by the following advantages. Despite the traffic jams can cause inconvenience to the inhabitants, with complete arrangement and planning, Residents will enjoy a better cityscape with just a temporary bothering, furthermore, earn a reputation worldwide with their engagement in urban renewal. Moreover, though it might lose some historical heritage by developing the city, it is undeniable that our city will possess more available spaces for developing our territory. Subsequently, helping us to pursue a better quality of life. To sum up, there are some visible cons to the modernization. However, with proper management of city renewal, residents are not only can enjoy the stunning cityscape but also enhance their quality of life by updating urban facilities, in that case, I believe the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.