Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

It is often argued that the disappearance of certain species of plants and animals is the primary cause of environmental damage, others believe that there are some causes that are more important to environmental problems. On the one hand, the loss of particular species of creatures destroys the ecological balance and in turn this will lead to environmental damage. Nowadays, many different types of plants and animals disappeared in the world, which decreases the production of photosynthesis and confuses predators and prey. For instance, mosses are primary producers that build biomass through photosynthesis, however, in today's world mosses are decreasing dramatically and this is one of the reasons why greenhouse gas is consistently increasing. On the other hand, although people should pay attention to the loss of creatures and species, some causes of destroying the environment are more important. The production of pollutants is one of the most important causes of environmental destruction, which include air, water and soil pollution. For example, air pollution can cause acid rain, which is extremely harmful to atmosphere and soil. Water pollution might destroy water's ecological system, thereby causing problems for the surroundings and animals. Soil pollution will decrease the production of grain and vegetables, which might significantly harm our daily lives. Furthermore, the main reason for the disappearance of most species is environmental pollution, therefore, pollution is a more important problem. In conclusion, while the loss of certain species of creatures can exacerbate the environment, other causes might be more important than it, like pollution in our environment.